Winnaars van de Nederlandse Zoölogieprijs Recipients of the Dutch Zoology Prize

2020: Wilko Verberk, Understanding the adaptive value of species traits in fishes and aquatic invertebrates

In 2019 the prize was not awarded

2018: **Sjouke Anne Kingma**, *Ecological and evolutionary processes underlying group living and cooperation in animals*

In 2017 the prize was not awarded.

2016: Maurijn van der Zee, On the function of the insect serosa.

2015: **Wouter Halfwerk**, *Understanding selective forces operating on multimodal communication in tungara frogs.*

2014: Rudy Jonker, Trans-generational responses to a changing world.

2013: Bertanne Visser, Evolutionary physiology - Linking gene to function.

2012: **Gretha Boersma**, Animal personalities and coping style: their roles in health and disease

In 2011 the prize was not awarded.

2010: **Martine Maan**, On the selective forces that drive the origin, maintenance and evolutionary consequences of animal colour diversity

2009: David Lentink, Mechanisms and evolution of animal locomotion

2008: Joris M. Koene, Sexual conflict

2007: **Jan van Gils**, In the footsteps of Jan Verwey: How flexible phenotypes reflect ambient ecological conditions

2006: **Mark O. Huising**, Communication in the endocrine and immune systems: Physiology and phylogeny

2005: Sander van Doorn, Sexual selection and sympatric speciation

2004: **Irene Tieleman**, Coping with challenges in different environments - Larks along an aridity gradient, and beyond

2003: Sander Kranenbarg, Does oxygen constrain size and shape of the teleost embryo?

2002: **Jacintha Ellers**, Fat or eggs? The evolution of resource allocation in heterogeneous environments

2001: **Johan Bolhuis**, Neural mechanisms of song learning in zebra finches

2000: **Jan Komdeur**, Partner choice and sex ratio adjustment as exponents of sexual selection

In 1999 the prize was not awarded.

1998: **Ole Seehausen**, Sexually selected species diversity as a function of communication channel width

1997: Bruno Ens, Career planning in oystercatchers

1996: **Eddy A. van der Zee**, *Muscarinic cholinoceptive systems: distribution of muscarinic acetylcholine receptors and behaviourally induced plasticity in the brain*

1995: **Kees J. Nagelkerke**, Evolution of sex allocation strategies in pseudo-arrhenotoke predatory mites

1994: **Theunis Piersma**, Energetic bottle-necks and the evolution of migratory routes of sandpipers

1993: Arie P. Otte, Molecular mechanisms of neural induction and competence

1992: Marcel Dicke, Predator-prey interactions in a tritrophic context

1991: **Herbert H.T. Prins**, *Ecology and behaviour of the African buffalo*